Life Lessons

I’m no stranger to positive thinking.

I believe that if you think it, feel it, see it, then it will be.

The mindset of giving 100% in everything you do may seem a little idealistic (or exhausting), but everyday I walk into a classroom (or some other glamorous location) and put my enthusiasm, knowledge and passion in front of everyone.

Knowledge is power, and with great power comes great responsibility…

They say that people become primary school teachers because they love children, and that people become high school teachers because they love their content.

My experience with my content areas (Media Art and English) is rather extensive, and I most certainly do love talking about it and teaching people all the wonderful things there are to know… but from my recent experiences, I have come to realise being a teacher is not just about me knowing my content, and being able to explain every specific detail in depth.

Being a teacher is about creating a positive, safe and supportive environment for students. A place where they can not only learn, but also understand.

Everyone should feel welcomed and valued.

Engaging students in tasks and content is a big part of teaching too. I aim to make every class an experience where students not only learn concepts, or practice skills, but take something away from that class that they want to share.

Something that inspires them further, and that they can take anywhere in their life.

Being a teacher isn’t an easy job, but it is something I can see myself doing for a long time.

I cannot imagine ever getting tired of dreaming new ideas.

If I could give any advice to my students, that I hope they would take to heart, would most probably be:

“Read a lot, write a lot, and dream big.”

It is so, so cheesy… but I would write it in gold metallic pen on their yearbooks always.

Leave a Reply

