My First Job

There I was, bright eyed, bushy tailed, and I mean that quite literally.

My eyes were bright and I was wearing a fake fox tail.

Working in a costume shop is a total dream for a dramatic and total-day-dreamer of a teenager.

Dressing people up 60’s, 70’s, 80’s, Disney, Scooby-Doo, Pirates, Medieval, ooh! I almost get shivers just remembering that giant walk-in wardrobe of a building.

It was so colourful, and fun, and pleasant. It was the best place to walk around smiling and thinking about how great the world is where people can dress up as Al Capone or a Pilot whenever they wanted to.

Sylvester the Cat or Tweety Bird from Looney Tunes were always favourites, and of course the whole cast from Rocky Horror was hidden in the store too.

Every fictitious (or real) character in that store became an extension of my own personality.

And now I am a real whiz when it comes to wearing wigs, so if you ever need any help, just call.

Leave a Reply

