The First Pages: My Life As A Reader

Drag those plastic blue chairs into a circle everybody! I’ll go first…

“DELICIOUS!”

Hello, my name is Leilani, and I am addicted to reading.

The first book I ever read completely by myself was ‘Butterfly Kiss’ by Vicki Churchill, and Charles Fuge (Hodders Children’s Books.)

I must have been grade 2 or 3, or at least young enough for my reading skills to be impressive (with the only trouble being the word ‘Delicious’)

Thus my life of a dedicated reader was established!

I was originally Angie the Brave (Sally Farrel Odgers), and then Matilda (Roald Dahl), Anne of Green Gables (L.M Montgomery), Stargirl (Jerry Spinelli), and then a hundred other lives too.

400+ books later, here I am, a well-adjusted almost adult who has never finished a murder mystery.

Unfortunately (I hate to admit something like this) it seems my entire life, until now, was a giant waterslide… rushing down with fast curves, lovely sunshine, accidentally choking on water-park chlorinated water… until WOOSH the slide ended and I’ve elegantly belly-flopped into the bottom pool of the ride!

That was a giant metaphor, by the way, a metaphor for living a life of reading anything I want, whenever I want.

Primary School was a breeze with this constant encouragement to read ALL THE TIME, and then high school with an open book hidden under the desk (English= A , Math = C+), but now tertiary education…

THERE IS NO TIME FOR A GOOD BOOK!

Only outrageously over-priced text books that have no welcoming scent, or likable protagonists, or cute illustrations (unless you count the blue cat I’ve scribbled with my ballpoint pen on page 342?)

Don’t get me wrong… I’m still going strong, picking up a new shiny friend during lecture recess. Or curling up with a well-worn favourite instead of planning my assessment.

But I miss it… there is no time to enjoy reading.

So here I am, spitting out a blog of my yearning, disguising it as an assignment.

Get out your red pens, and grade me!

Yours, Leilani

Leave a Reply

